Home / Afghanistan / Four Presidential Candidates Want Change in System
Four presidential candidates want change in system

Four Presidential Candidates Want Change in System

KABUL – Out of the 18 presidential election candidates that are running for presidency in July polls, four of them have entered the race promising to bring changes to the country’s political system.
The 14 others have said they will leave the system as it is although some said they will eliminate the Chief Executive position in the next government.
The systems that they want to implement includes establishing a prime minister post, changing the current presidential system to federal parliamentary systems, and creating a third vice president post.
Those candidates who want to bring changes to the system are CEO Abdullah Abdullah, former national security advisor Mohammad Haneef Atmar, head of Massoud Foundation Ahmad Wali Massoud and former MP Abdul Latif Pedram.
Abdullah said if he wins the July presidential election, he will amend the Constitution and will change the current presidential system to a parliamentary system.
Haneef Atmar’s slogan is that if he wins, he will create a prime minister post and a third vice president position, which according to him will be a reform of the current government system.
Wali Massoud’s election campaign slogan is about changing the current system to a federal parliamentary system.
Abdul Latif Pedram said his intention is to change the current system to a federal system.
President Ashraf Ghani, who is also a candidate, has not said anything about the political system but said Mohammad Yusuf Ghazanfar, a close aide would be a decision maker in his government. Thus, it is expected that President Ghani will have a third vice president as well.
On January 3, the Independent Election Commission (IEC) officially begun the registration process for presidential polls. The process ended on January 20.
The candidates who have registered their names are: Abdul Latif Pedram, incumbent President Ashraf Ghani, incumbent CEO Abdullah Abdullah, former NSA Mohammad Haneef Atmar, former FM Zalmai Rassoul, former minister of interior Noorul-haq-Ulomi, former Afghan Envoy to India Shaida Mohammad Abdali, Sayed Noorullah Jalili, Enayatullah Hafiz, leader of Hizb-e-Islami Gulbuddin Hekmatyar, Ahmad Wali Massoud, Noor Rahman Laiwal and former intelligence chief Rahmatullah Nabil, Mohammad Hakim Torsan and former director at Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Faramarz Tamanna.
The IEC on Monday said they have started scrutinizing the candidates’ nomination papers to exclude ineligible candidates.
(Sahar News)

Check Also

Taliban’s Key Commander Mullah Khadem Killed in Balkh

Taliban’s Key Commander Mullah Khadem Killed in Balkh

MAZAR-E-SHARF – One of the most dangerous commanders of Taliban Mullah Khadem was killed during …