Home / Afghanistan / IEC Announces Preliminary List of Presidential Candidates
IEC announces preliminary list of presidential election candidates

IEC Announces Preliminary List of Presidential Candidates

KABUL – The Independent Election Commission (IEC) on Tuesday announced the preliminary list of the candidates of the upcoming presidential elections which are scheduled for July 20.
According to a statement by IEC Chairman Abdulbadi Sayyad, all the eighteen candidates have been included in the list and that no one has been disqualified at this process.
A number of election observer organizations doubt the IEC’s ability to bring a change in the list if it is needed.
Meanwhile, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MoFA) said the IEC has not shared the required documents of the candidates with the ministry.
“We hope the commission by accepting its weaknesses, inabilities and delays, soon take action on receiving written authorization letters from the candidates and their running mates in this regard,” said Sebghat Ahmadi, spokesman for MoFA.
One month before, the IEC officially began the registration process for presidential elections. The process ended on January 20.
The candidates who have entered the election race include Abdul Latif Pedram, current President Ashraf Ghani, CEO Abdullah Abdullah, former national security advisor Mohammad Haneef Atmar, former FM Zalmai Rassoul, former interior minister Noorul-haq-Ulomi, former Afghan envoy to India Shaida Mohammad Abdali, Sayed Noorullah Jalili, Enayatullah Hafiz, leader of Islamic Party Gulbuddin Hekmatyar, Ahmad Wali Massoud, Noor Rahman Laiwal and former NDS chief Rahmatullah Nabil, Mohammad Hakim Torsan and ex-director general of the Center for Strategic Studies of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Faramarz Tamanna.
(Sahar News)

Check Also

AAF Airstrikes Target 10 Militants in Faryab

AAF Airstrikes Target 10 Militants in Faryab

MAYMANA – At least 10 militants were killed and six others were wounded in Afghan …